NHL 11 Settings

Hello, NHL gamers.  Do you want fast-paced end-to-end action and statistical realism in your NHL 11 game?  You have come to the right place.  My settings will help you get your gaming experience where you want it to be.  Obviously, my settings will not please 100% of the gamers; however, I believe they are a good base to start with.  Give my settings a try, and then tweak whatever you feel is necessary to get the experience you want.

I assume the slider setup options are the same on all consoles; however, I am not certain about that.  These settings are based on EA Sports’ NHL 11 game on the Xbox 360 console, which has sliders operating on a 0-6 scale (0 being empty and 6 being full).  Some sliders operate on a 0-3 scale (fighting, for instance).

Before you start your franchise, CLICK HERE if you wish to bring former NHLers such as Aleksey Morozov, Alexander Radulov, Jaromir Jagr, Dominik Hasek and many others into free agency for your franchise mode.

My sliders/settings

Rules

Basic and general settings

A.I.

Passing

Shooting

Checking

Goalies

Visual settings

My results

I started a “Be A GM” franchise mode with the Pittsburgh Penguins.  I like to start the franchise on draft day rather than the first game.  By starting the franchise on draft day, I can go ahead and make the offseason moves before starting year one of my franchise.

In the first game of the season, I managed to defeat the Philadelphia Flyers by a score of 3-1.  My top line of Aleksey Morozov (signed him during the offseason as a free agent), Sidney Crosby and Evgeni Malkin was the only line to put the puck past Flyers goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky (I created him and added him to the Flyers before starting the franchise).

Crosby led the way with three assists for my Penguins.  Defenseman Robyn Regehr (traded for him after the draft) scored the first goal, a slap shot from the blue line.  Jeff Carter later tied the game 1-1 for the Flyers.  In the third period, I scored two goals to finish with the 3-1 victory.  Defenseman Mark Eaton scored as his wrist shot flew over the shoulder of a screened Bobrovsky.  Morozov rifled a wrister through Bobrovsky’s five-hole on a breakaway to ensure the victory.

It was a fun game to play.  Crosby finished with three assists, Malkin finished with two assists and Morozov had one goal and one assist.  Bobrovsky made 39 saves as I outshot the Flyers, 42-27.

In another game, I defeated the Montreal Canadiens by a score of 2-1.  Unlike the game against the Flyers, I did not get 40+ shots.  I was outplayed by the Canadiens and they outshot me 36-21.  Goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury stole the game for me, making 35 saves on 36 shots (Canadiens were 0/5 on the PP).  Goals by Tyler Kennedy and Sergei Gonchar gave me the victory.

Thus far, I find my settings to be an enjoyable gaming experience for me in NHL 11.  Virtually every aspect of the game has the right feel to me; however, I might make minor changes sooner or later.  If the CPU continues to struggle scoring goals against me, I may reduce the human goalie reaction time slider.

Give my sliders/settings a try.  I think they are a good template for you to work with.  After playing a few games with these sliders/settings, tweak whatever you think is necessary to your liking.

Christopher Wenrich is a fantasy baseball columnist at BaseballDigest.com.

Leave a Reply

