2010 BBA Day

Today is “BBA Day” in the Baseball Bloggers Alliance.  The organization started in April of 2009 and currently has well over 200 members.  Please click here to read an interview with BBA founder Daniel Shoptaw.

I joined the BBA during the 2010 MLB season.  I was unaware of the BBA’s existence at first.  I was playing in a fantasy baseball league with some colleagues who happened to invite me to join the BBA.  Upon joining the BBA, I was impressed with the detailed plans of the voting process for awards.

I like the mutual respect bloggers have for one another in the BBA.  We are all writers with a common interest:  our passion for baseball.  The quality of the written work varies from blog to blog.  There are some bloggers who may not have what one may define as a great understanding and knowledge of the intricacies of baseball, and some may not have polished writing skills; however, their passion for baseball is evident.  They voice their opinions proudly, and I respect them for it.  Please do not take this to mean that the BBA lacks great writers.  There are great writers in the BBA with a great understanding of the game.

When I first joined the BBA, it was my hope that the BBA’s existence would help my own blog get more hits.  Thankfully, it has received more hits.  I think the BBA is a great road for writers to get more exposure that may lead to writing opportunities in the future.  In fact, some members of the BBA collaborated together and created their own new sites/projects.  One such project which springs to mind is i70baseball.  I take joy in seeing the development of writers and their opportunities, as well as their mutual respect and teamwork.

I truly appreciate what the BBA has done for my blog.  I am proud to be a member of the BBA and I hope they are also proud to have me as a member.  Some writers may be more tech-savvy than I am, as they are quite adept at using “RSS”, “trackbacks”, “pingbacks” and other technological jargon I am not entirely familiar with.

The ever-growing membership of the BBA is somewhat of a blessing and a curse.  I am pleased to see membership growing and seeing more writers receive the exposure they deserve; however, the curse of such a large membership is that nobody has the time to read each and every blog.

Nevertheless, I like to believe I have a small hand in helping other blogs get readers when I post a BBA Press Release.  The Press Releases – especially those which announce the voting results – have links to each blog which registered a vote.  Many thanks to Daniel Shoptaw and others at the BBA who prepare the Press Releases and enclose the links.  Members such as myself are fortunate in that we only have to copy and paste the Press Release, and the links are already prepared for each voting blog.

I have enjoyed my time in the BBA thus far.  I wish Mr. Shoptaw well and hope his visions and dreams for the BBA come true.  He is a genuine and sincere person who is unafraid to extend a helping hand and answer what questions you may have.

I appreciate the BBA’s existence and what it has done for me.  The BBA helps give a voice to the voiceless.  It allows writers and fans everywhere to see how similar and how different our thoughts are in comparison to the BBWA and in comparison to other fans and writers alike.

After reading and learning more about the BBA, I hope you readers understand that the stereotypes of bloggers in general are as foolish as any other ill-conceived steroetype.  While it is true that the quality of the written work varies from blog to blog, there are some excellent writers with a great understanding of baseball in the BBA.

Frankly, I find the knowledgeable BBA writers tend to be more open-minded about a player’s performance than some BBWA writers.  Some members of the BBWA place too much emphasis on a hitter’s home run totals or a pitcher’s win totals in their postseason award voting and Hall of Fame voting.  I am not grandstanding against the BBWA’s writers and bashing them; I am merely pointing out my own observation that some bloggers show more common sense and less bias than some BBWA members.

The stereotypical train of thought that fans are clueless in matters of baseball needs to end.  While I do agree that there are many fans who do not know what they are talking about, there are plenty in this day and age who do have knowledge.  Thanks to the rise of fantasy baseball, the rise of the internet and social media, fans in general are more knowledgeable about the game than ever before.

Christopher Wenrich is a fantasy baseball columnist for BaseballDigest.com.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

